The Book Review, No.13, May 26, 1993, page 7


RIDER ON THE TRAIN OF THE TIME
by Nina GROZOVA

 

     On the hard benches of a suburban train, poorly dressed citizens while away the time with a bottle... Levon Khatchatrian's illustration for Erofeev's immortal book "Moscow to the End of the Line" seemed to me suspiciously familiar. I get it: Khatchatrian’s drawing is a citation of Pavel Vassiliev's painting "Lenin on the Way to Petrograd." But instead of Lenin, the hero of Venedikt Erofeev's novel is talking with the passengers. The artist is playing his game with the viewer, saying: if you know, you'll get the point.    
     Khatchatrian became “sick”of “Moscow to the End of the Line" many years ago. The magic of Erofeev's fantasy wouldn't release the artist until he finally understood that it wasn't enough to simply illustrate this book in good faith, it had to be lived with the author.
     "The Erofeev’s book deserved to become custom-made" says the artist and shows me an unusual mock-up.
     On each page there is an illustration, as if grabbed from the context of our recent life. Here there are photographs of the USSR leaders and posters from "Lenin rooms," and coupons for vodka, and labels from canned meat… But the most amazing is a phantasmagoric line that runs throughout the book: words from a characteristic memento of the Soviet era written records, a civil defense training aid. And this isn't all. The artist is convinced: the unique limited edition of the famous author must not be a book in the ordinary sense, i.e., pages in a binding. Much more pertinent are the pages tied with twine and placed in transparent plastic bag, together with an empty vodka bottle, a small loaf, and a stationary order-form with a name-by-name list of an "order." Will a publisher be found that will be attracted by this fantastic but worthy idea? I would like to be a believer…
 


 

     Meanwhile the artist is continuing his search for means of reducing to a minimum his presence in his own work. The things he uses are the most prosaic, but ones that have much to say to us, citizens of our country: a card-file box, the binder of a "personal file," newspaper clippings, street announcements, a tear-off calendar. The amazing combination of these everyday things brings to light a sort of new reality. I think that the old newspapers have a particularly strong effect on the viewer. The newspaper clippings that Khatchatrian quaintly assembled in narrow strips about twenty years ago (in order to make them easier to hide in case of possible house-check), now attract the viewer’s look more than many paintings.    
     The artist since long understood: newspapers are a highly explosive thing. Even if heroes and events are selected taking into account the viewer's reaction to the huge sheet of paper. It is amazing: when you start to look, it draws you in more and more strongly. Khrushchev, Kennedy, Dubcek, Che Guevara, Soviet pioneer parades, the BAM [the Baikal Amur Mainline - a hugely expensive, much propagandized, but little-used rail line built in the 1970s and 1980s], drug addicts of the "rotten West,", the Vietnam War… And somewhere on the side of this explosive bundle of History there is a photograph of the artist himself from those years.
    
Even then he was convinced: adequately expressing his era was possible only with the aid of contemporary materials. The artist consciously worked for the prepared viewer (the future viewer, of course – obviously one couldn't think of exhibiting or even showing to friends anything like this is those years), knowing how to gaze into life, loving to read, and to think over what was read.
     Among the favorite writers of the artist himself are: Solzhenitsyn, Platonov, Dovlatov, Shalamov, and Erofeev. A photocopy of Dovlatov's novel "The Zone" made under Brezhnev times, is now considered by the artist as an independent work, a peculiar memento of the era of Samizdat.
     Levon determined his priorities in literature long before the official "permission" of disgraced writers. In one of his works the "generals of literature," whose photographs he put in a row, as if on a Socialist “Board of Best Workers,” were harshly contrasted with a single portrait of Varlam Shalamov, apart from the rest, drawn by the hand of the artist and "nailed up" to immortality with an office thumbtack.    
     And here is the next mystification. Under the picture there is a signature: "Ivan Denisovich Shukhov." But the Solzhenitsyn's famous hero has the face of… Osip Mandelstam. Or there is a portrait of Rosa Luxemburg signed with the name "Elizaveta Denisovna Voronianskaya." This woman voluntarily took her life after she revealed, under questioning, the place where the manuscript of "The Gulag Archipelago" was hidden. The artist hopes that, having in mind the schoolbook portrait of the German Communist, people will remember the worthy name of quite a different woman.
     When Andrey Tarkovsky died, Levon put a tear-off calendar in a frame, in which he pasted a photograph of the great master and wrote alongside his birthday date: "Andrey Tarkovsky was born.”
     "Soumgait" is the most terrifying of Khatchatrian's works. There is no image as such. On the rough craft paper there is written only the short note from the Soviet Encyclopedia about this small town, absolutely unknown before the tragic events. The alphabet letters similar to cemetery inscriptions and flowers cut out from a cheap greetings postcard influence the viewer more powerfully than many of realistic paintings.
     Or one more work by Khatchatrian, where a sign, a word stand for unique heroes. The small characters of Zoschenko and Platonov's names divided by a bold horizontal line and placed on a big sheet of craft paper, look particularly defenseless.
     Sometimes the maestro allows himself to be ironic. In his studio, which is of itself an artwork in the spirit of the conceptualist avant-garde, solemnly hang several genuine "Grateful Letter" forms (do you remember that not long ago there was such a genre?). On them, carefully, letter by letter, are glued the names of the leaders of Soviet underground culture, those who in our times have unexpectedly become the new "Generals" of the official art.
     It remains to add that in the amazing studio there also live Khatchatrian’s well-known works in cartoons and his illustrations for the magazines "Ogonyok," "Pioneer," and "Misha." The artist himself, in fact, doesn't like to talk much on them. The main works of Levon Khatchatrian until now has been known only to his family and close friends, though they were done fifteen and twenty years ago. When the wave of "forbidden art" arrived, the artist thought it was awkward to push, clawing his way into the overcrowded train of the time. So until now he is riding in the entryway, sharing in a way the fate of Erofeev's immortal hero.
 

back to the list of texts
site map

Нина Грозова

"ПАССАЖИР В ТАМБУРЕ ЭПОХИ"
 

     На жестких скамейках электрички коротают путь за бутылкой бедновато одетые граждане... Иллюстрация Левона Хачатряна к бессмертной ерофеевской книге "Москва - Петушки" показалась мне подозрительно знакомой. Так и есть! Это цитата с картины П.Васильева "Ленин по дороге в Петроград", только вместо Ильича с пассажирами общается герой Венедикта Ерофеева. Художник ведет со зрителями свою игру: мол, кто знает - тот поймет.    
     Книгой "Москва - Петушки" Хачатрян "заболел" давно. Магия ерофеевского вымысла не отпускала художника, пока он наконец не понял: эту книгу нельзя только добросовестно оформить, ее надо прожить вместе с автором.
     - Венедикт Ерофеев заслужил, чтобы его книга стала штучным товаром, - говорит художник и выкладывает передо мной необычный макет. 
     На каждой его странице - иллюстрация, словно выхваченная из контекста нашей недавней жизни. Здесь и фотографии лидеров страны, и плакаты из красных уголков, и талоны на водку, и этикетки мясных консервов... Но, главное, через всю книгу непрерывной фантасмагорической строкой проходит характерный памятник письменности советской эпохи - пособие по гражданской обороне. Впрочем, это еще не все. Художник убежден: уникальное малотиражное издание знаменитого романа не должно быть книгой в привычном понимании, то есть страницами под одной обложкой. Органичнее - листы, перетянутые веревкой и вложенные в целлофановый пакет. Там же - пустая бутылка, булочка и казенный бланк с поименным перечислением "заказа". Найдется ли издатель, которого увлечет сия фантастическая, но достойная идея? Хочется верить...
 


 

     А пока художник продолжает поиск средств, сводящих к минимуму его присутствие в собственных работах. В ход идут самые прозаические, но о многом говорящие нам, жителям своей страны, вещи: картотечный ящик, обложка "личного дела", газетные вырезки, уличные объявления, отрывной календарь. Удивительное сочетание этих обыденных вещей рождает на свет какую-то новую реальность. Особенно сильно, как мне кажется, на зрителя воздействуют старые газеты. Вырезки из них, причудливо собранные Хачатряном лет двадцать назад в узкие бумажные полосы (чтобы удобнее было их при необходимости прятать), притягивают взгляд посильнее иных картин.    
    
Художник давно понял: газеты - вещь взрывоопасная. Даже если герои и события подбираются с расчетом на зрительское восприятие огромного бумажного полотна. Удивительно: когда начинаешь вглядываться, оно притягивает все сильнее и сильнее. Хрущев, Кеннеди, Дубчек, Че Гевара, пионерские шествия, БАМ, наркоманы "прогнившего Запада", война во Вьетнаме... И где-то сбоку от этого взрывного исторического сгустка - фотография самого художника тех лет.
     Уже тогда он был убежден: адекватно выразить свою эпоху можно только с помощью современных материалов. Художник сознательно работал для подготовленного зрителя (будущего, разумеется, - о том, чтобы выставлять и даже показывать друзьям нечто подобное в те годы, понятно, и речи не было), умеющего вглядываться в жизнь, любящего читать и обдумывать прочитанное.
     Вот круг любимых авторов самого художника: Солженицын, Платонов, Довлатов, Шаламов и Ерофеев. Ксерокопию повести Довлатова "Зона", сделанную в брежневские времена, художник теперь считает самостоятельным произведением, своеобразным памятником эпохе самиздата.
     Приоритеты в литературе определились для Левона задолго до официального "разрешения" опальных писателей. В одной из работ Хачатряна предельно жестко противопоставлены "литературные генералы", чьи фотографии он выстроил в ряд, словно на доске почета, и одинокий, оторванный от всех портрет Варлама Шаламова, написанный рукой художника и будто пригвожденный к бессмертию канцелярской кнопкой.    
     А вот - очередная мистификация. Под рисунком подпись: "Иван Денисович Шухов". Но внешность знаменитый солженицынский герой имеет... Осипа Мандельштама. Или - портрет Розы Люксембург, снабженный чужим именем: "Елизавета Денисовна Воронянская". Эта женщина добровольно ушла из жизни после того, как выдала на допросе место, где хранилась рукопись "Архипелага ГУЛАГ". Художник надеется, что, оттолкнувшись от хрестоматийного портрета немецкой коммунистки, люди запомнят достойное имя совсем другой женщины.
     Когда умер Андрей Тарковский, Левон поместил в раму отрывной календарь, в который вклеил фотографию мастера и вписал возле даты его рождения: "Родился Андрей Тарковский".
     Самая страшная работа Хачатряна - "Сумгаит". Изображение как таковое на картине отсутствует. На шершавом картоне - лишь краткая справка из Энциклопедического словаря про этот небольшой и безвестный до трагических событий город. Шрифт, схожий с кладбищенскими надписями, цветы, будто вырезанные из дешевой открытки, траурная лента наискосок воздействуют на зрителя посильнее многих реалистических полотен.
     Или еще одна картина художника, на которой тоже единственный герой - это знак, слово. Маленькие буковки имен Зощенко и Платонова, разделенные жирной горизонтальной чертой и помещенные на большом листе, кажутся особенно беззащитными.
     Иногда маэстро позволяет себе пошутить. В его мастерской, которая сама по себе - произведение искусства в духе концептуального авангарда, торжественно висят несколько подлинных бланков "Благодарственных писем" (помните, был в недавнюю пору такой жанр?), а в них аккуратно, по буквам, вклеены имена нынешних знаменитостей "андеграунда", неожиданно ставших новыми "генералами от искусства".
     Остается добавить, что в удивительной мастерской органично живут и многочисленные известные работы мастера в мультипликации, и его иллюстрации для журналов "Огонек", "Пионер" и "Миша". Сам художник, правда, не любит на них долго останавливаться. Главные же детища Левона Хачатряна до сих пор известны лишь домашним да близким друзьям художника, хотя сделаны они пятнадцать и двадцать лет назад. Когда пошла волна "запрещенного искусства", художник счел неловким втискиваться, расталкивая всех локтями, в переполненный вагон. Так до сих пор и едет в тамбуре, разделяя в чем-то судьбу бессмертного ерофеевского героя.
 

все тексты
карта сайта